Alex Groves

Alex Groves is a British composer and curator working across contemporary classical and electronic music. His work often combines instrumentalists and singers with live-processed electronics to create richly-detailed and all-consuming soundworlds.

Linear Construction (No. 5)

Back in Spring 2020, cellist Gabriella Swallow had the idea of collaborating on a new piece for one of Nonclassical's lockdown compilations. Fast forward to Autumn 2021 and Linear Construction (No. 5) - the piece we made together - has been nominated for an Ivor Novello Award in the Solo Composition category. The winners are announced at the start of December and I can't wait to celebrate alongside my fellow nominees at the ceremony!


Surface Image (No. 2)

During lockdown at the start of this year, I turned my hand towards creating visual art. Using the processes and structures I normally employ in my composing, I began to create works on paper that mirrored the internal structures and organic surfaces of my music. One of these pieces - Surface Image (No. 2) - was selected for this year's Royal Academy Summer Exhibition and is on display there until January.

Subscribe on Patreon

The past year has shown just how precarious working as a freelance composer can be. That's why I've decided to set up a new Patreon to give you a behind the scenes look at my work and to help support myself long-term. From as little as £2.50 a month, you can get everything from bespoke playlists and insights into my current work through to discounted releases and tickets to events.



Subscribe below to stay up to date with all the latest releases and events

Thanks for submitting!